Happy Valentine’s Day, World!

On this day of love, I really want to take the time to celebrate the women in my life. For most of my life, Valentine’s Day has been about “being in love” and relationships with men. This year, I am celebrating something else. Since being here in Dublin, I have been reconnected to the spirit and the strength of some amazing females. My time here has me constantly reflecting on all of the extremely wonderful, fierce, intelligent, driven, kind, and hilarious women I have in my life. I don’t mean to exclude men. What I am trying to describe feels like it transcends gender. I am celebrating dance, breath, that perfect scene in a movie, the right song that comes on and makes everyone scream the lyrics, a dinner of pleasure, an artistically swirled cappuccino, the next ten minutes you didn’t think you could run, your arms around someone you love. I am celebrating being human.

I can’t even remember exactly what I was searching for flying over the Atlantic Ocean just over a month ago. That plane ride already feels ages ago. Time seems to be spinning by so quickly, but it is also lingering in just the right moments. I haven’t found what I was looking for so much in my classes or scattered along a cobblestone alley or swirling in the center of my Smithwicks. I’ve found it bursting out laughing alongside Caroline and Lauren in the middle of the day, starting up conversations with new friends at the Pav, and dancing on a Friday night in the basement of the Stag’s Head, shoulders bouncing against shoulders. At the moment, I am the fullest kind of content. I have let go and I am still up in the air. I don’t need anyone to catch me. I trust the room around me. I trust where I am floating to and I have faith in my own body and my own spirit to take me there in due time. In fact, in some ways, I’m already there.

“Cause, I’ll tell you everything about being free,
Yes, I can see you, girl, can you see me?” – Wolfmother

Cheers,

Meg

